Homemade “McMuffin” Swap

It’s been a while, I know… I had to take a bit of a hiatus at the end of the semester (and used the subsequent month to recover from it). Hopefully, I’ll be a little better with updating.

In keeping with the resolution I made to myself last year to take a little better care of myself, I’ve been working out and watching what I eat.

During the workweek, I’ll take an English muffin and yogurt or oatmeal for breakfast, but on weekends I like to indulge just a little. Even then, I’d feel a little guilty about whole-hog (pun not intended) on bacon and eggs, pancakes and sausage, or their ilk…

This morning, I had several “less-guilty” ingredients on hand, making a “guilt-free breakfast sandwich out of them.

Ingredients: My regular English muffins (Thomas’s Honey Wheat, double-fiber, 1), turkey bacon (2 strips), nonfat American cheese (1 slice), and egg whites (1 egg)*.

Homemade "McMuffin" #2

Under the hood…

Homemade "McMuffin" #1

Looking inside…

Homemade "McMuffin" #3

The verdict?: It wasn’t greasy, it made my taste buds happy, and I didn’t regret eating it…

Let’s just say I’m not gonna miss you, McDonald’s.

* The flavor of the bacon and cheese balanced well with the egg whites, but if you prefer your eggs a bit yolkier, egg-beaters are a great egg substitute. 2% cheese will also work well if you prefer that to nonfat.

About A. Random Hapa

Thirty-something. INFP. Librarian. Brain Tumor Survivor. Hobbyist Singer. Amateur Photographer. Foodie. Craft Beer Fan. Unrepentant geek.

Posted on February 1, 2009, in recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That looks like my kind of breakfast. I’m going to try this very soon. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

