Interview with the Lemmonex

Rugelach at Wegman's

Rugelach: In honor of both of us being Jewish in spirit…

I was hoping Lemmonex would interview me while I was still on Winter Semester break, but she wasn’t able to get her questions to me until a few days ago (understandable, since she had a lot of requests for interviews). I’ll be using this an an excuse to take a study break… 🙂

And away we go….

1. Name an event that has changed your life…big or small.

Mine was a pretty big one, actually. Almost five years ago, I underwent treatment for a brain tumor.

Lessons learned: learning to know my limits (well, for the most part), that my friends and family are indeed a treasure (I’m not saying they weren’t treasured, but crises like these drive points like this home), learning not to worry about little things nearly so much (though I still have my moments), that I don’t look good bald, that wigs are expensive and itchy, that I’m stronger than I’ve ever given myself credit for.

Almost five years out, I’ve had no recurrence. Thank goodness.

2. What do you love about working in a library?

  • As a self-admitted info. junkie, I enjoy helping others find information.
  • Certain types of transactions require a degree of detective work; it’s almost like work is CSI: Library!
  • The relationships that I have built with coworkers and patrons alike. Their presence and support certainly counteract the more challenging people I run into.

3.If you could meet a famous chef, who would it be?

Easily Chef Duff (Goldman). Not only is he relatively local, he has a great combination of talent, wackiness, and a laid-back/down-to-earth personality.

He’s also a Jew who (ironically?) loves his pork… What’s not to love about him?

4. What is the worst meal you have ever cooked?

I attempted to make chicken and dumplings in the crock pot sometime last year. First of all, I filled the pot to the hilt. Since I didn’t have time to stay up, I put all the biscuit dough balls in with everything else. The biscuit dough expanded, causing lots of other things in the crock to fall out gradually overnight. The resulting mixture just tasted like… undercooked biscuit dough. It was edible, but barely.

I should have taken a shot of that for the bloopers reel, but I forgot to. Too focused on cleaning up the mess.

5. Coke or Pepsi?

Whatever is on sale in diet, generally. Diet Dr. Pepper rocks them all, though.

I don’t expect many requests, but rules are rules… 😉

If you’d like to be inteterviewed, just follow these steps:

1) Cut a hole in the … Oh, wait…

Here are the real steps:

1) Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2) I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3) You will update your blog with the answers to the questions. Be sure you link back to the original post.
4) You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5) When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

About A. Random Hapa

Thirty-something. INFP. Librarian. Brain Tumor Survivor. Hobbyist Singer. Amateur Photographer. Foodie. Craft Beer Fan. Unrepentant geek.

Posted on February 4, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ohh…Diet Dr Pepper….good call!

    Diet Dr. Pepper, I wish I knew how to quit you….

Leave a Reply

