Eat Your Veggies: Adobong Gulay

While I have made a spinach version before (there’s also adobong sitaw with Asian green beans), this was my first shot at this version of adobo. It was made for a potluck party attended by classmates old and new and a few of my professors…

…Proof positive that you can adobo just about anything! The below recipe is from Bobbiy at Sparkrecipies:

Adobong Gulay

Ingredients:

  • 1 large raw onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp. peppercorn
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • ½ cup raw potato, diced
  • 1 lb. Japanese Eggplant, cubed
  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • ¼ cup palm or white vinegar
  • dash of black pepper
  • dash of granulated sugar

Instructions: In a pan, heat oil, and then add peppercorn and bay leaves. When the bay leaves start to turn brown, add the garlic. Saute until brown. Then add the onion and fry until translucent. Add the pepper and the sugar, stir briefly to mix, and then add the soy sauce and vinegar. Lower heat to medium, and then add the potatoes and eggplant. Stir briefly then simmer, covered, around 20 minutes for the potatoes and the eggplant. They should be soft but not mushy. Add water if liquid level drops too low. You don’t want to burn this dish. You just need enough liquid to cover the ingredients.

Serve over rice. Serves up to 8 people depending on how much you want to make.


Below are shots of the diced eggplant…Unfortunately, Giant didn’t have Japanese eggplant, but the big ol’ purple ones worked fine…

Diced/Wedged Eggplant

Eggplant... a Little Closer

Probably my most common food shot, but… Hail to the Redskins!

Diced/Wedged Redskin Potatoes

I generally smash garlic against the blade of a big Japanese cleaver. Sure I can use a garlic press, but there’s something therapeutic about smashing things…

Smashed Garlic

Garlic, bay leaves, and peppercorn smelled wonderful cooking in oil. Afterward, I added the onion, vinegar, and soy sauce…

Sauteing Garlic, Bay Leaves, and Peppercorns #1

While the dish might not have ended up as pretty as I would have liked, it tasted good…

Adobong Gulay

I think next time, I should put the potato in before the eggplant, especially if I’m using redskins (despite what the recipe says). I also should cut the onion just a little bit larger and not process it any further.

About A. Random Hapa

Thirty-something. INFP. Librarian. Brain Tumor Survivor. Hobbyist Singer. Amateur Photographer. Foodie. Craft Beer Fan. Unrepentant geek.

Posted on October 16, 2009, in Asian, Eat Your Veggies, Filipino, recipe, Uncategorized, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi !

    This looks really yummy!

    I’m compiling a list of all the different ways to cook adobo in a quest to find what a true filipino adobo is today, and I’m happy to include your adobo recipe in my article at http://kumain.com/1001-adobo-recipes/. I hope you don’t mind the link from my site to yours =)

    Keep in touch!

    No problem! I can probably even try some variations on adobo that I, myself haven’t tried yet (see my chicken adobo reply…) ~S~

  1. Pingback: Potatoes with Afritude 2: Electric Boogaloo « Sabine…Shot the Food!

  2. Pingback: 1001 Adobo Recipes Recipe | Kumain.com

  3. Pingback: Adobong Gulay…The Second Time Around « Librarian…Shot the Food!

Leave a Reply

