Mmmm… Mochi Ice Cream…

While we were in Hampton Roads with my family over Christmas week, Dan and I were sent on an errand to pick up a few things at the Trader Joe’s near where we were staying that week. We mostly had no idea what things we were being asked to buy at the time until Dan, my sister and her spouse, my dad, and I had to try to finish one of the items closer to the end of the trip…

…that item was Mochi Ice Cream. We ended up hooked on the stuff almost immediately!

I picked up a couple of packs after work a couple of weeks ago…

IMG_6828

Mikawaya’s is available in a number of flavors including mango, green tea, chocolate and strawberry (plus a few other flavors I can’t find at the 24th Street Trader Joe’s).

A six pack of mango is pictured below…

IMG_6829

So what is Mochi ice cream, exactly? It’s ice cream wrapped in a ball of soft, slightly sweet, and fluffy pastry.

IMG_6837

I invariably get powder all over my face, and no…it’s not confectioner’s sugar. Oops…

IMG_6831

The ice cream got a little runny after running it from Foggy Bottom to our apartment on public transit. The picture below it was taken the next day after the mochi ice cream had some time in the freezer…

IMG_6836

A serving of mochi ice cream is two balls, but I typically just take one. One perfectly portion-controlled ball’s great to satiate my sweet tooth… No wonder my sister’s family loves this stuff!

About A. Random Hapa

Thirty-something. INFP. Librarian. Brain Tumor Survivor. Hobbyist Singer. Amateur Photographer. Foodie. Craft Beer Fan. Unrepentant geek.

Posted on January 17, 2010, in desserts, Japanese, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

