Identity Crisis (aka: A Fine, Fine Line…)

Mushroom, Mushroom...

I had a little trouble trying to explain the difference between a foodie and a food snob to my soon-to-be mother-in-law at dinner the other day, which got me wondering:

First: Am I truly a foodie? Friends have called me a foodie, and I self-describe as a semi-foodie.
Second: Is there really a difference between a foodie and a food snob?

I enjoy food: cooking it and eating it. This applies to everything from the James Beard award-winning restaurant (well, hypothetically) to diner food to home cooking to the occasional pack of Maruchan Ramen. Heck… I like it all… or close-to-all. If I didn’t, this blog wouldn’t exist, really…

I also am willing to try something at least once and I’m nowhere near picky about what I eat (if anything…just making sure I keep a healthy balance and eat what I’m in the mood for, where available).  I definitely love sharing my love for food as well as my knowledge with others; I am humble enough to know there’s much I still need to learn. Food is not a vehicle of one-upsmanship for me (a hallmark of what I feel food snobs are as opposed to foodies), and I don’t think I’m too good for particular foods, restaurants, or what have you …

What I don’t like I’ve had and ended up not having a taste for (see: liver); I know there’s a difference between having a preference for one thing over another and being condescending. There’s also a huge difference between picky eating and food snobbery, and I realize that.  On the other hand, I’ve heard that foodies and food snobs are one in the same, though I really don’t subscribe to that notion (hence the self-description).

I guess “foodie” is just a label…a label that only means so much in the grand scheme of things. While I’ve bounced the foodie/snob question off of Byko and Kechara, I’m curious about what you all think: Is there a difference between a foodie and a food snob? Should I be describing myself another way or not worry about it? After all… it’s all about the food… right?

IMG_3943

There’s a fine, fine line between love / and a waste of time…. Kate Monster in Avenue Q

About A. Random Hapa

Thirty-something. INFP. Librarian. Brain Tumor Survivor. Hobbyist Singer. Amateur Photographer. Foodie. Craft Beer Fan. Unrepentant geek.

Posted on January 20, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

