East Meets Italy Meets Southeast

I was reading a copy of Southern Living while visiting my in-laws-to-be when I saw this recipe for oven-fried catfish. I thought it was a good idea… frying catfish would smell up the apartment for quite a long time and baking catfish would be a better nutritional deal. Once I decided to make it, I wasn’t in the mood for Cajun seasoning and cornflakes, so I wondered what would happen if I subbed garlic salt for the Cajun seasoning and Italian-seasoned panko crumbs for the cornflakes.

Here’s the result of the experiment: a very tasty and relatively inexpensive fish dish…

Panko Oven-"Fried" Catfish (Closer)

The play by play is below. I made sure to wash my hands early and often to avoid cross contamination and keep ingredients from messing up my camera.

As directed in the recipe, I soaked my catfish (nuggets in this case) in low-fat buttermilk for at least 20 minutes. It turned out more to be 35-40 and even longer for half of the fish since my rack couldn’t take all the fish I had at once. Here’s some of the fish I took out of the buttermilk bath:

Catfish in Buttermilk

I then poured some panko crumbs in a flat dish. I sprinkled a little garlic salt on the fish, then rolled it in the crumbs…

Buttermilk-Dipped Catfish Getting a Panko Coat

Here’s the second round of fish fully breaded and ready to bake…

Panko-Breaded Catfish on the Rack

They were then baked for as directed in the original recipe. Here’s a shot of them once finished and placed into a container…

Panko Oven-"Fried" Catfish #1

I will be in the mood to make the original recipe at some point (and closer to its southern-“fried” roots), but the experiment worked well both Dan and myself… They turned out nice and crispy, the flavor kept well, and the fat on the fish made it taste like the fish was fried (even though it wasn’t). You might lose some crispiness heating leftovers in the microwave, but you might be able to recover some the original crispiness by toasting them in a toaster oven.

About A. Random Hapa

Thirty-something. INFP. Librarian. Brain Tumor Survivor. Hobbyist Singer. Amateur Photographer. Foodie. Craft Beer Fan. Unrepentant geek.

Posted on October 5, 2010, in entrees, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

