Bacon Candy: Brown Sugar Bacon

Brown Sugar Bacon (Closer)

Don’t get me wrong…I like bacon made without any accoutrements. I like my bacon almost as much as I like my chocolate (and most of you who know me know I’m a huge chocoholic), but I wanted to try my hand at brown sugar bacon last weekend.

Here’s how the prep and cooking went down. I used a very simple recipe found on the Food Network.

Brown Sugar Bacon

from Party Line with the Hearty Boys on foodnetwork.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound thick cut bacon
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar

Directions: (no jump this time since there are only three other pics).

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Line a baking pan with parchment paper and lay the bacon out side by side, overlapping just a bit, if necessary, to fit the whole package on the pan. Aluminum foil (and the Silpats) were all I had on hand, though…

Bacon w/ Brown Sugar (before baking)

Sprinkle with the brown sugar and place the pan on the top rack of the oven.

Bacon w/ Brown Sugar (closer, before baking)

Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until the bacon is nicely browned and slightly crispy. Remove from the oven and serve immediately.

Here’s how the bacon looked after all the grease had been drained and blotted dry with paper towels. When all is said and done, you still have a sheen/shimmer going on.

Brown Sugar Bacon

While regular bacon is delicious on its own, adding brown sugar adds sweetness to bacon’s smokiness, making for a very delicious morsel. I love the interplay of sweet *and* salty as well. I won’t do this all the time I have bacon, but I appreciate having some bacon candy every now and again. Now that I have the basics down, I can also play with the recipe/prep a little.

About A. Random Hapa

Thirty-something. INFP. Librarian. Brain Tumor Survivor. Hobbyist Singer. Amateur Photographer. Foodie. Craft Beer Fan. Unrepentant geek.

Posted on July 26, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

